Interview: Omnivert

1383656_633045783385563_1414069713_n

Echotic chats to Brighton-based musician and songwriter Dan Breaden a.k.a Omnivert.

Who is Omnivert?
Omnivert is my not so secret identity that I use as a vehicle to write and release my own music. I play drums for bands, so I guess that makes it a solo project, although I’ve recently allowed the first outsider into the recordy midst!

If you could describe the sound of Omnivert in 3 words what would it be?
I wish I knew German! They have some pretty good descriptive words. But I don’t, so I’ll just have to say ‘Experiments With Music’


What/who are your influences?
John Frusciante, Passion Pit, Bon Iver, Caribou, Sigur Rós, Bibio, Bonobo, Antlers, Aphex Twin, Radiohead (& Atoms) The National, Modest Mouse.

If you could work with anybody (dead or alive) who would it be and why?
That’s a really weird question for me! I’ve always been thinking of Omnivert as such a solitude kind of thing, but I’d have to say Rick Rubin, the biggest reason being he has been behind the scenes for so many albums I worship.

Is Omnivert a musical project that prefers seclusion or collaboration?
So far it’s mostly been a seclusion kind of deal. I’ve recorded, mixed, mastered and released all the songs from a small room behind a Wool shop that I live in. I’d like to try some remixes next though to begin working with other artists.

How do you think your environment affects the way you write and record music?
It’s a massive factor. I live on my own in a small, sometimes unsatisfying space, and reflective of that is I often just get writers block or lack the motivation to work on my music. Being a drummer firstly I’ve had the opportunities to play in some great spaces, and it can really lift your perspective.

Are there any other acts/artists you recommend people check out?
Loads! Just in Brighton alone there are some fantastic bands, but in the wider range of music I’ve found, I’d say check out The National, Caribou, Antlers & Passion Pit.

What is Omnivert’s upcoming plans?
I’ll be releasing a new single very soon, or it might even be out by the time people are reading this! I’ve got one more song in the works, then I’ll be looking to do a couple of remixes.

New single Chichijima is out now:

[Helen Brown]

Leave a Reply

