Interview: GAPS

Echotic talks to Brighton duo GAPS!

gaps970VicLentaigne

Who is GAPS?
Rachel Butt and Edward Critchley – two old school friends reunited in Brighton.

How did GAPS form?
Over a bottle of red! I had gone round to Ed’s for dinner and had my laptop in my bag. I’d been writing and recording ideas for a little while as a secret hobby and Ed had just moved and set up a DIY home studio. The wine gave me the courage to play him some of my stuff and to my surprise he was into it! I left him with 3 ideas to work on and these became; The Void, Belong and Cascade which we uploaded to SoundCloud in Jan 2013.

If you could describe the sound of GAPS in three words, what would it be?
Emotive, Playful, Cathartic

What/who are your influences?
I love the melody of Middle Eastern scales and the drone found in traditional Indian music. I tune my guitars so I can use open strings and my ideas are very simple and repetitive. When I sit down to write and record it’s kind of like a self-indulgent zone out. I’m never sure what’s going to come out but it’s always therapeutic. On top of that I can say I have a deep love for Kate Bush and Fleetwood Mac – but who doesn’t?!

On the production side Ed gets creative and uses found sounds as push as possible. We’ve tried to create our own palate rather than using generic samples/synths. There are many brilliant electronic producers that do this brilliantly and we’re a big fan of Four Tet, Bonobo and Jon Hopkins.

How do you approach songwriting together?
We’ve stuck with the same approach as our initial endeavour together. I write and record ideas at home alone and send the files to Ed for him to work on production and arrangement. When he is happy with a first draft we sit together and discuss sounds and arrangements and edit the bugger until we both feel it’s complete.

If you could work/collaborate with anyone (dead or alive) who would it be?
I would love to work with Ananda Shankar. Ed said David Bowie… I might jump in on that too!

Are there any other acts/artists you recommend people check out?
There are many brilliant acts, locally to Brighton I would say check out Momotaro and Lloyd Williams.

What are GAPS’ upcoming plans?
We’re just about to release our second single ‘I know it’s you’ (released)– out Dec 9th on Sexbeat Records. Then it’s home for a Cov Xmas.


[Helen Brown]

Leave a Reply

