Interview: Foreign Skin

1476197_629312650464386_1264836646_n

Who is Foreign Skin?
Foreign Skin is an audio/Visual, self styled producer of sample based electronic, ambient and hip hop music. Foreign Skin has a very distinctive sound that infuses chopped up and manipulated vocals, accompanied by lush melodic synth lines.

If you could describe the sound of Foreign Skin in 3 words, what would it be?
1. Chopped up samples 2. Self styled Ambient Electronic 3. Audio/ visual artist

What/who are your influences?
This is a hard question! I have people that I ‘aspire’ to be like, like Bonobo, Ta-ku, moderat, Lapalux, Bjork, Purity ring. But I’ve never really stuck to any influences and pretty much write whatever comes out of my head. Plus every time I do try to write like someone it just comes out completely different… which I’m not really complaining about and think is a good thing!

If you could work with anybody (dead or alive) who would it be and why?
I’d have to say right this moment, I would love to work with Jon Hopkins. Just because I haven’t heard such an amazingly mastered electronic album that sounds even amazing through my crappy iPod headphones. And just the fact that he’s an incredible producer, composer; just a musical genius.

Is Foreign Skin a project that prefers seclusion or collaboration?
I’d have to say a bit of both really. The only collaboration I’ve done so far was when me and Joe (aka Caveman Genius). We had a 6 hour writing session at Brighton Electric. It was amazing, we wrote two songs which we will soon be recording, and on top of that, we both got to play with each others’ equipment which was like geek heaven! But yeah I’ve got a few collaborations lined up, and I’m really looking forward to merging each others’ styles together.

What is your songwriting process like?
Non-existent haha. I’ve never really had a structure to the way I write, when I write a new track it just happens. It’s different every single time, and most of my tracks were written within a 24 hour period. If it doesn’t pour out of me, 90% of the time I end up leaving that project in a dark corner of my laptop never to be touched again.

Are there any acts/artists you recommend people should check out?
I’m going to give you a list. I like writing band lists!
Caveman Genius, Wild Cat Strike, Farao, Mount Bank, Eagles For Hands, MYYTHS (Who I’ll be supporting with Dog in the Snow in March ) Alphabets Heaven.. This list can go on, but I’m going to stop.

What is Foreign Skin’s upcoming plans?
So I’ve stopped playing for the time being, whilst I write a bunch of new tracks, new remixes and prepare myself for an EP that I will hopefully release some time later this year. First show I have lined up as previously mentioned is with new comers, MYYTHS and Dog In The Snow at the Prince Albert on the 6th of March.

Leave a Reply

