Interview: RM Hubbert

HUB-Banner2-911x329

Echotic chats to singer-songwriter and 2013 winner of Scottish album of the year (Thirteen Lost & Found), RM Hubbert.

Musically speaking, who is RM Hubbert?
A Glaswegian man with a guitar. And mumbling. Right hand does flamenco, left hand does punk.

If you could describe your sound in 3 words, what would it be?
Never good enough.

Who are your influences?
Sonically; Minutemen, Sonic Youth, Sparklehorse, Shellac, Public Enemy, etc. I don’t write music for the way it sounds though. It helps me deal with depression. Enables me to communicate more clearly. Catharsis of a sort.

What kinds of things inspire your songwriting process? How does it come to you?
My pieces are little documents. Reminders of that particular time in my life. I tend to just write without purpose. The meaning dawns on me afterwards.

You have been very open about how music has changed your life. How do you think music has shaped who you are as a human being?
I’m not sure the music has changed my life. Although it does provides a framework through which I’m comfortable talking. I think that’s the important part for me. So, aye, I suppose it has changed my life. Definitely not the most efficient method of therapy though.

If you could work with anyone (dead or alive) who would it be and why?
D Boon from the Minutemen. That man’s music has shaped my political and personal views in a huge way. Incredible musician too.

Are there any other acts/artists you recommend?
The Twilight Sad, Adam Stafford, Aidan Moffat, David Thomas Broughton, Emma Pollock, to name but a few.

What are your upcoming plans?
The second single from my new album, Breaks & Bone, is coming out at the end of March. Touring starts up again around that and will carry on for most of the year.

RM Hubbert is playing at the Komedia Studio Theatre in Brighton on March 30th.

Leave a Reply

