Interview: David Bennett

IMG_1127
Echotic chats to singer-songwriter and pianist David Bennett.

Musically speaking, who is David Bennett?
Musically I’ve sort of got a Jekyll and Hyde situation going on. Jekyll is a songwriter with an acoustic guitar, singing songs inspired by artists like Bob Dylan and Kimya Dawson. But at night, Mr. Hyde will appear behind a piano at a wedding or hotel somewhere and play jazz until the early hours.

If you could describe your sound in 3 words, what would they be?
About the words.

What/who are your influences?
As far as songwriting goes, I’m inspired by anyone who wants to say something with their lyrics. So people like: Billy Bragg, Dylan, Kimya Dawson, Thom Yorke.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yb1oge5nHQk

What kinds of things inspire you during the songwriting process?
Generally the thing that sparks my writing is when I form some opinion which I can’t stop grumbling about; the next logical step is to write a song about it.

Do you like to write in seclusion or in a more collaborative fashion, or both?
I have almost always written on my own, but not due to lack of choice. I think the thing is, my songs are about a point of view and unless the other writer shares that point of view then the songs meaning will be compromised.

How do you think music has shaped who you are as a human being?
Music, for better or worse, has certainly become part of my identity. It’s hard to say what I would be like if I’d never played music but I do know that I am a much happier and confident person thanks to music and all the people and experiences it has introduced me to.

If you could work/collaborate with anyone (dead or alive) who would it be and why?
Snarky Puppy, because they are helping to spread the cause of being the best musician you can be, rather than just ‘good enough’. but if I collaborated with them I’d probably just embarrass myself.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eZBlRkF0-to

Are there any other acts/artists you recommend people check out?
Kimya Dawson as she always has something important to say. And on a more local level, Brighton’s Garden Heart.

What are your upcoming plans?
I’m aiming to release a collection of music videos, Jenny being the first one, and to then collaborate with some YouTubers to try and spread my music around. I’ve never let myself find time to record all my songs before but I’m going to force myself this year.

Leave a Reply

